Confirmed dealSun Home Saunas: Big Deal Days, save up to $2,300 · ends Oct 12, 2026See verified deals →
Head to head

Sun Home Equinox 3 vs Plunge Infrared Sauna: Which 120V Sauna Fits You?

Two full-spectrum infrared saunas that plug into a dedicated 20-amp outlet. Here’s exactly where they differ.

Quick verdictPrices from brand sites, Oct 9, 2026
Pick for more heat & a longer warranty

Sun Home Equinox 3

  • Full-spectrum infrared
  • 3 seats
  • Up to 165°F
  • 120V / 20A outlet
Check price at Sun Home
vs
Pick for app control & quick assembly

Plunge Infrared Sauna (Standard)

  • Far-IR + full-spectrum
  • Up to 160°F
  • 120V / 20A outlet
  • 5-yr cabinet & heaters
Check price at Plunge
On this page

If you want an indoor infrared sauna without running a 240-volt line, these are two of the most direct competitors. Both use far-infrared plus full-spectrum heating, and both specify a dedicated 20-amp circuit with a NEMA 5-20 outlet. Both cost about $7,000 at current prices. The differences come down to seats, heat, footprint, delivery and warranty.

Short version: Choose the Equinox 3 if you want a confirmed three-seat bench, a slightly higher max temperature (165°F vs 160°F), free shipping and a 7-year warranty, for $191 less at today’s prices. Choose the Plunge Infrared if you like Plunge’s app and ecosystem, want the option to step up to the 175°F Pro, or prefer its deeper cabin.

Side-by-side specs

SpecSun Home Equinox 3Plunge Infrared Sauna (Standard)
Price (Oct 9, 2026)$6,999 (regular $7,699)$7,190 sale (comp. value $7,690)
Heating5 far-infrared + 2 full-spectrum heaters; 0–100% intensity per heaterFar-infrared panels + full-spectrum incandescent towers
Max temperature165°F160°F (Pro model: 175°F)
Seats3 (57" bench)Not stated for Standard; Plunge’s chart says infrared “up to 3 people”
ElectricalDedicated 120V, 20A circuit with GFCI protection; NEMA 5-20; 10-ft cordDedicated 120V, 20A circuit; NEMA 5-20 (Pro needs 240V)
Exterior size62.3" W × 45.9" D × 77.7" H53⅛" W × 55¹⁄₁₆" D × 79" H
InteriorNot captured50½" W × 45¹³⁄₁₆" D × 73⅜" H
Weight642 lbs~540 lbs
WoodKiln-dried eucalyptusClear Canadian hemlock
EMF (brand claim)<0.5 mG “ultra-low EMF”“Near-zero EMF”
AssemblyMagne-Seal panels, no special toolsTongue-and-groove; about 1 hour with two people
Red light optionNot compatibleRed-light panel available on Pro only
DeliveryFree shipping$250 standard curbside in core zones; extra fees farther out
Warranty7 years5 yr cabinetry & heaters; 2 yr electronics/controls; 1 yr glass & power supplies
AppBluetooth audio and chromotherapy (app not specified for Equinox)Plunge app: set temperature, start and schedule sessions

All values from each brand’s product page on Oct 9, 2026; see sources below. EMF figures are the brands’ own claims, not something we measured.

Where they really differ

Footprint: wide vs deep

The Equinox 3 is wider (62.3" vs 53⅛") but shallower (45.9" vs 55¹⁄₁₆"). In a narrow room or closet nook, the Plunge’s narrower width may fit better. Along a long wall, the Equinox’s shallower depth leaves more walkway. Also remember the Plunge needs 26.5" in front for the door to open fully. Sun Home suggests a 7 × 6 ft room with an 8 ft ceiling for either Equinox size.

Heat

On paper the Equinox runs 5°F hotter at maximum. Plunge’s answer is the Infrared Sauna Pro (175°F), but the Pro moves you to 240V, which removes the main reason to choose either of these two.

Total cost to your door

At the prices we saw, the Equinox 3 is $191 cheaper before delivery ($7,190 − $6,999). Add Plunge’s $250 standard curbside delivery fee in core zones and the gap is about $441. Sale prices at both brands change often, so recheck both on the same day.

Warranty structure

Sun Home lists a single 7-year warranty. Plunge splits coverage by component: 5 years on cabinetry and heaters, but 2 years on electronics and 1 year on glass and power supplies. Plunge sells 2 extra years through Extend. If long-term electronics coverage matters to you, read both warranty documents in full.

Our take

For a buyer whose main goal is “good infrared sauna on a normal circuit,” the Equinox 3 comes out ahead on the published numbers: confirmed three seats, higher max temperature, longer warranty, free shipping and a lower current price. The Plunge is the better choice if its footprint fits your room better, if you already own a Plunge cold plunge and want one app for both, or if you might upgrade to the Pro later.

See Sun Home Equinox 3 · See Plunge Infrared Sauna

Comparing more options? See the best home saunas under $8,000.

  • Sources (accessed Oct 9, 2026):
  • Sun Home Equinox 3 product page: https://sunhomesaunas.com/products/sun-home-equinox-3-person-full-spectrum-bestinfrared-sauna
  • Plunge Infrared Sauna product page (incl. FAQ on Standard vs Pro and traditional-vs-infrared chart): https://plunge.com/products/the-infrared-sauna
Black Friday 2026

Sauna deal alerts, verified

We check brand sites through November and email you only when we confirm a real sale, with the price and the end date the brand states. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Used only for deal alerts. Privacy.